Gimp, Similar to Photoshop but Free

By Paul Silli

 

Gimp is a free photo + screen shot editor which is somewhat similar to Adobe Photoshop. It is a great Open Source Web 2.0 application. To access gimp visit http://www.gimp.org/. Gimp takes about 17 megabytes of compressed memory to download, and installs easily to your PC. If you notice the tag at the end of the link “.org.” Meaning, this is not a commercial software product. It is meant to be used by everyone, and with no obligations to its creators. Open source software is wonderful! 

 

Within the Gimp program you have the option to clone-edit, photo retouch, image author, and more… It has lighting effects, text editing, add lines, graphics, art, images, blur, burn, whiten, color manipulators, resize effects, and other features.  

 

For example, take a look at the two photos. The picture on the left is the original of my mom holding me at age two; and the picture on the right has been edited with Gimp. You can do a lot with this program. The clone feature and feather options are especially nice. With the right picture I lightened its tones, removed several blemishes, marks, and old stains. I also whitened the teeth and darkened the eyes. This program rocks. 😉

 

 

 

To download gimp visit: http://www.gimp.org/downloads/

 

4 Responses to “Gimp, Similar to Photoshop but Free”

  1. Alison Says:

    Good job figuring out and making use of this graphic program. I like the use upgrading old photos. I have found everything I needed that I use in Photoshop. I’ll have trouble spending out of my budget next time I need to get CS. I’ll probably just go open source. I’m glad you found value in it’s use. Keep up the good work! Alison

  2. gatorball Says:

    Thanks Alison. I appreciate your comment. Yes, Open Source software is awesome; and this gimp program is pretty good considering it is totally free. 🙂

  3. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. gatorball Says:

    Thanks… You rock! I appreciate your input. 😉


Leave a Reply

