Teacher Benefits, National Board Certification – NBPTS

logo1.gifBy Paul Silli 

Many teachers I talk with have never heard of National Board Certification. They often ask “What are the advantages of getting certified?” Unfortunately, in my state of Colorado, there are not many teachers applying for the program. I think this is because a lot of them do not know of the many benefits. Aware of this, I decided to list some of the reasons teachers should attempt certification.

Benefits ¦

§         You will acquire new, innovative teaching skills and gain subject-area knowledge

§         Earn a 10-year National Teaching License (easily renewed), that makes you Highly Qualified per state

§         Receive thousands of dollars in stipends each year (about a 4% raise)

§         Obtain numerous hours of re-certification points and get Professional Development Recognition

§         Earn Six-Graduate Course Credits

§         Bypass annual Administrative Teacher Evaluations (you are beyond general evals)

These are just a few advantages you will receive through certification. For more info visit NBPTS: http://www.nbpts.org/become_a_candidate/the_benefits 

Passing National Boards 

Achieving National Certification is great for your career — however it is not an easy task. To be successful I would strongly recommend you find a “mentor” within your district to advise you. When in the program try to stay open minded, and willing to accept positive criticism about your work. It is important to listen to your mentor especially when writing and editing your portfolio. Seeking editing assistance is crucial for achievement.     

Attempting to get nationally certified is a wonderful way to improve your practice (pass or fail). The program forces you to analyze “WHY” you do the things you do. It is a self-reflective methodology.  

If you are searching for ways to improve your skills, increase your income potential, and climb to the TOP of your profession — then National Board Certification is for you. Go for it! 🙂

To learn more about certification or become a candidate visit NBPTS: http://www.nbpts.org/

11 Responses to “Teacher Benefits, National Board Certification – NBPTS”

  1. Sherri Says:

    It sounds like a great but challenging process. How long does it take, and how expensive is it?

  2. gatorball Says:

    It takes about 8 months or so — with your portfolio and assessment completion. Costs to pay for the program is free in some states such as Florida & Colorado through full grant support. The program is paid for by a states DOE. Check your district for more info on grant and titution waivers. There are ways to get certification for free. I did… Best of luck!

  3. songzhihua Says:

    Is it as hard as the Master’s program we are going through? 🙂 If I have a chance, I will definitely go for it, definitely after I complete my Master’s. It does seem challenging though.

    By the way, Paul, I didn’t use any external mic for my video tutorials. I just spoke to my Mac loudly while my wife and kids were asleep. 🙂 I had to stop from time to time because my Mac kept making noise to lower the heat.:) I can’t wait to try my logitech.:) Thanks for your encouragement.

  4. gatorball Says:

    It is not easy… and I can not compare it to getting a Masters degree. It only takes one year to complete. It is worth the effort if you plan on being a teacher for the long run. That is why you get a lot more money, and have a National 10-year license in teaching. You can go just about anywhere to work. Most states accept the license as Highly Qualified.

  5. Carolyn Says:

    Paul

    Thanks for the resource.

  6. James Blake Worley Says:

    I just wanted to say that I like the way your blog postings look. Each one I’ve seen has a nice look with a good eye for design.

    As for this post good resource. Thanks

  7. Paul Says:

    Thanks for the nice remarks.

  8. gail bradshaw Says:

    I am currently involved with the process and i want to know how to study to pass the assessment portion. I am in 5-8 science.


Leave a Reply

