Podcasting, Technology Speaks to You

Podcast LogoBy Paul Silli

You are casually checking your work email, and suddenly see that your boss has just sent you an urgent notice. Attached in the notice you read: “You must hear this important message.” Yes, hear! You click on the link… and what do you hear? Garble, garble, buzz, buzz. 😉

Many business professionals, teachers, and others are jumping on the band wagon to use Podcasting to communicate with their audience through audio messages. If you don’t know what a podcast is, allow me to briefly explain. A podcast is a digital recording that is formatted into a special audio-file so online users can hear messages. Your recorded message can be about any topic you want your listeners to hear.

Have you ever heard a podcast? Visit the link below to hear a sample I created:  http://www.twango.com/media/gatorball.public/gatorball.10012?sort=5

So, what do you think? Do you like Podcasts, or would you rather read a message?                       

»Download Free Audacity recording software at: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/  audacity-logo-r_50pct1.jpg                                                            

8 Responses to “Podcasting, Technology Speaks to You”

  1. crodrigo Says:

    Paul,

    You have a very nice voice online, do you do voice-overs? Your audio podcast was very clear. Thank you for the instruction.

  2. gatorball Says:

    Thanks for the compliment crodrigo. Yes, you can perform voice overs with audacity software — to easily fix your recorded message mistakes. Audacity is free, and awesome to use. However, I would recommend writing-out a “script” to follow to read while recording. This makes things so much easier because you don’t make as many audio mistakes… slip of the tongues, fumbles etc. I hope this was helpful.

  3. KJA Says:

    Nice Paul,

    I am messing with Audacity now. I’ll have to ask you for some help with it sometime. Kyle

  4. Paul Says:

    Sure, just let me know. It is fun and pretty easy to use. Just mess with the program a bit… You will get it.

  5. Elizabeth Clark Says:

    I’ve been thinking about this the last couple of days. I can remember listening to one podcast in my life, and it was one some of my students made for class.

    I’m a visual learner. Also, I read much faster than anyone can talk, and with a well-written, well-formatted document, I don’t even have to read every word. Listening to a podcast or any kind of audio broadcast is not a good use of my time.

  6. songzhihua Says:

    I am sorry, Paul, your podcast is not the first one that I have heard (the first one being Brent’s instruction of induction to the field). However, I do like your podcasts. Thanks for sharing your experience and resources.

    Personally I like reading messages so that I see it and start where I want if I want to read it again, but for podcasting, I have to find where the part is and listen to it again.

    By the way, I enjoy the background music. 🙂

  7. Paul Says:

    Hey, I agree with some of your comments. I am a “visual learner” as well. Podcasts may not be as effective as reading a written message because you don’t have a great frame of reference. For example, you have to rewind a message if you miss something. It can be a slower medium over reading text.

    PS_ I do think Podcasts have a viable purpose. I know they are great for audio learners…

  8. slverbek Says:

    Thanks for the podcast about podcasting:) I will definitely be checking out Audacity and Twangster to attempt to make my own podcast. In my IT 6999 class our instructor used his iPod with a plugin recorder to record comments. He used a Belkin recorder and he said that it had great sound quality and highly recommended it.


Leave a Reply

